Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

01/24/2008

The Dhaka Angel

Something amazing happened this afternoon. After a meeting with Ali, our "media Angel" from 7 days to plan an interview and send a journalist to Dhaka in March, I had another meeting with Tim to discuss the project and give us his donation. We spent an extremely nice time discussing marketing as it's his job and how he could contribute being my "strategy feedback" with the marketing campaign and the brand we want to develop for the sustainability project.
Then I recieved a call from a gentleman who wanted to handover his donation. I told him to meet me in a cafe as I thought he would be happy to discuss the project. The cafe was closing down and he told me he was in front of it. I came out and a car was waiting. We recognized each other and he told me he was in a rush so he just gave me the cheque. I begged him to tell me who he was as we wanted to say thank you but he literally told me:
"No Flo, I want to stay anonymous. Ok, you have my name but I don't want publicity. That's my way of doing it and that's it."
Then he left. When I read the amount, I could not believe it. 100 000 Dirhams! No typing mistake, one hundred thousand Dirhams. My god! It's amazing....
Even if we don't give your name, thank you mister anonymous from the bottom of our heart. Also thank you to Ali from 7 days as it's through one of your article that this Dhaka angel found us. Also thank you Tim and all the donators. Because of you the project is moving forward but also we meet incredible people who teach us the pure and real sense of giving!

19:15 Posted in Donation | Permalink | Comments (0)

The comments are closed.